Publicador de contenidos

Back to 2014_05_27_ARQ_Fym-Italcementi

The University and FYM-Italcementi Group award prizes to the best project in concrete

Benjamín Lezaeta, from the Catholic University of Chile, has obtained the first place award out of thirty architects who participated in the competition.

Image description
27/05/14 15:54 Alberto Bonilla

The School of Architecture of the University of Navarra and the group FYM-Italcementi Group have awarded the prizes of the 3rd FYM-Italcementi Competition which rewards the projects which, due to their quality, innovation, originality or creativity, best highlight the use of concrete within an architectural work .

Benjamín Lezaeta, from the Catholic University of Chile, has won the first prize award thanks to his work "Technological displacement: Ferrocement prefabricated components for the exploitation of salmon in the Southern Sea of Chile". A project that aims to generate a turnaround in today's construction procedures, placing ferrocement again at the forefront of construction and creating awareness that "with less material you can achieve equal or greater efficiency".

The second place went to Pablo Xesús Fernández, from the Escuela Técnica Superior de Arquitectura de A Coruña, who designed a project for the town of Cabanelas in which the use of concrete in almost all phases of construction stands out.  

Finally, Bartolomé Gómez Cordero, from the Polytechnic University of Madrid, with his work "A shadow in Fez. Library Services central Maghreb. Intervention in the medina", has made a sustainable proposal where the concern for light and solar radiation are accompanied by an awareness of the design plan, supported at all times by the possibilities provided by concrete.

scholarship for the Master's Degree at design Architectural

The author of the winning project will obtain a scholarship to take the Master's Degree at design Architectural which is taught in the campus Pamplona.

In total, more than thirty young architects from Spain, Argentina, Costa Rica, Uruguay, Venezuela, South Korea, Chile, United Kingdom, India, registered for the competition in this edition, which is the result of a agreement-framework of partnership signed by both institutions for the training of students and graduates, and for research.