Content publisher


Specialties and trust


Published in

Diario de Navarra

Maite Illarramendi Garmendia

Each year, 1,683 places are offered to become an Internal Nurse Resident, to be distributed among the more than 10,115 graduates at national level. They have to choose from only seven specialities: midwifery, family and community, mental health, paediatrics, geriatrics, work and medical-surgical. Consequently, there are units that require more specific knowledge than those of Degree Nursing, such as the Emergency Room or the Intensive Care Unit, which are not recognised as specialities.

There are many graduates who seek to expand their knowledge through master's degrees, which are not recognised by the Ministry of Health. And many others are working in units without being sufficiently qualified; it is this structural deficiency, which we sometimes do not stop to think about, that is detrimental to patients.

If nurses were required to have specific preparation for each area, as is the case in medicine, the care received by patients would be better. Furthermore, through these measures, nurses would feel more confident in performing different interventions. If more specialties and EIR positions were offered, the Degree in nursing would no longer be so generic. How long will we have to wait until more specialties are recognised?